Talkin’ about a Revolution

I’m nothing if not ambitious when it comes to creating change! Working with young children is a powerful avenue for change. Working with families is a powerful avenue for change. So is working with college students. But I want BIG change. And I’m impatient. I want BIG change NOW, even when all my experience with policy & advocacy says that change comes slowly.

What change do I want? I want families to no longer worry about whether they can feed their children or whether they have a safe place to live. I want children and families to have care for their health. I want us to care about and for each other. Not in a “make everything free” and “nobody should work” way. In an empowering way, where families have choices and where their dreams are achievable. And where there is a network and community that can catch them if they stumble or encounter more than they can manage.

That’s why I love this Tracy Chapman song.

About childandfamilypolicy

This blog is an effort of passion and commitment, created for the students of CD 479: Policy Analysis and Advocacy, a senior capstone course of the Child Development Department at Humboldt State University.
This entry was posted in Passions and Anxieties. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

