From Cheryl: Options

Here’s Cheryl message: This song represents both my anxiety of advocacy with policies and what I feel needs to be the biggest change. “We keep on waiting on the world to change” and “we just know that the fight ain’t fair” are two lines that sick out most to me. The fight will never be fair. We need to keep fighting and keep working but there also needs to be patience and we also need to wait. Having said that, this song also gives me a sense of hope. I am not the only one waiting on the world to change; there just needs to be more people actively waiting. If we spread the word for something we are passionate about, at the very least, then change might come a little quicker. If I have to wait, I am going to be telling people about it. I hope that change will come about at some point but until then, I wil be actively waiting on the world to change.

You have two choices–the music video and a dance version.
Music:

Dance:

About childandfamilypolicy

This blog is an effort of passion and commitment, created for the students of CD 479: Policy Analysis and Advocacy, a senior capstone course of the Child Development Department at Humboldt State University.
This entry was posted in Passions and Anxieties. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From Cheryl: Options

  1. I remember when this song first came out, I was talking with Carol about “waiting on the world to change” about how that is such an impossible idea. I think that I will never have this one moment again, so I don’t really want to waste it by waiting. I’ve always assumed that he was being ironic when he wrote this…

Leave a Reply

