The Machine that Kills Fascists

From Corina: I had a really difficult time deciding. Writing, listening to, and playing music are big parts of my life. I mulled over The Kinks “Apeman” and John Lennon’s “Gimme Some Truth” or “Working Class Hero.” I really wanted to pick something familiar to popular culture, yet radical and poignant and meaningful…there is actually a lot that fits that criteria…

I ended up choosing a real classic. This song was a huge “hit” even though it was NEVER played on the radio. It spread through grassroots movements, underground (initially), and from person to person singing it at marches, protests, work camps, and parking lots.

About childandfamilypolicy

This blog is an effort of passion and commitment, created for the students of CD 479: Policy Analysis and Advocacy, a senior capstone course of the Child Development Department at Humboldt State University.
This entry was posted in Passions and Anxieties. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Machine that Kills Fascists

  1. Corina says:

    It’s funny because most people who know this song haben’t heard the last three verses–considered “controversial.” Woody taught him to his son, Arlo, on his death bed and made him promise to remind everyone this is part of America, too!

    As I went walking I saw a sign there
    And on the sign it said “No Trespassing.”
    But on the other side it didn’t say nothing,
    That side was made for you and me.

    In the shadow of the steeple I saw my people,
    By the relief office I seen my people;
    As they stood there hungry, I stood there asking
    Is this land made for you and me?

    Nobody living can ever stop me,
    As I go walking that freedom highway;
    Nobody living can ever make me turn back
    This land was made for you and me.

  2. Corina says:

    I also labeled my post “This Machine Kills Fascists.” I know killing is not necessarily a way to solve anyone’s problems, but it’s what Woody wrote on his guitar and has a powerful meaning…fascism still exists, even in our beautiful country (although in theory, it should not)…

    FASCISM: a political philosophy, movement, or regime (as that of the Fascisti) that exalts nation and often race above the individual and that stands for a centralized autocratic government headed by a dictatorial leader, severe economic and social regimentation, and forcible suppression of opposition
    (Retrieved on January 25, 2012 from: http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/fascism)

  3. I need to apologize: I was so busy trying to get the posts up that I didn’t copy your subject line for the title of the post. I’ve fixed it. I agree, fascism still exists in this country-it has revealed itself more some times than others, but is still an ever-present threat.
    I also didn’t post the lyrics. I’m glad you added them. With your explanation, it adds even more, though just listening to the song and hearing Woody’s words, I thought, was very powerful.

Leave a Reply

